What is sound studies?

Authored by: Grimshaw-Aagaard Mark

The Routledge Companion to Sound Studies

Print publication date:  November  2018
Online publication date:  October  2018

Print ISBN: 9781138854253
eBook ISBN: 9781315722191
Adobe ISBN:


 Download Chapter



Mark Grimshaw-Aagaard is the Obel Professor of Music at Aalborg University, Denmark. He has published widely across subjects as diverse as sound, biofeedback in computer games, virtuality, the Uncanny Valley, and IT systems and also writes free, open source software for virtual research environments (WIKINDX). Mark is series editor for the Palgrave Macmillan series Studies in Sound, and his books include the anthologies GAME Sound Technology & Player Interaction (IGI Global, 2011) and The Oxford Handbook of Virtuality (Oxford University Press, 2014), and, with co-author Tom Garner, a monograph entitled Sonic Virtuality (Oxford University Press, 2015). A two-volume anthology, The Oxford Handbook of Sound & Imagination, is due in 2018 from Oxford University Press.

Search for more...
Back to top

Use of cookies on this website

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.