Dynamics of South Asian Regionalism

Authored by: Kishore C. Dash

Routledge Handbook of Asian Regionalism

Print publication date:  November  2011
Online publication date:  March  2012

Print ISBN: 9780415580540
eBook ISBN: 9780203803608
Adobe ISBN: 9781136634734


 Download Chapter



A framework agreement on regional co-operation in South Asia was first reached between seven South Asian countries – Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka – in 1983. Two years later, after further planning and negotiation, the South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation (SAARC) was launched at the first regional summit in Dhaka in December 1985 to advance the dual goals of promoting peace and development in South Asia. Afghanistan was admitted as the eighth member in 2007. However, after 25 years of existence, SAARC’s progress remains slow and its achievements in terms of programme implementation and regional institutional arrangements can be described as modest at best. SAARC’s ‘turbulent nongrowth’ (Haas 1990) over the past decades, coupled with the existence of mutual hostility and trust deficit among South Asian countries, has led many observers to question if South Asian leaders will be able to pursue deeper regional co-operation that involves taking concrete initiatives to strengthen the existing regional arrangements and building new regional institutions to achieve mutual benefit (see Lawrence 1996).

Search for more...
Back to top

Use of cookies on this website

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.