Multilateral diplomats of Central European states before and after 1989

Authored by: Jacek Czaputowicz

Routledge Handbook of International Organization

Print publication date:  May  2013
Online publication date:  June  2013

Print ISBN: 9780415501439
eBook ISBN: 9780203405345
Adobe ISBN: 9781134112982


 Download Chapter



This chapter discusses the roles played by multilateral diplomats of the Central European states (CESs) in international organizations (IOs). Central Europe in the narrower sense comprises the states that were independent in the interwar period and retained statehood throughout the Cold War, i.e. Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia (later the Czech Republic and Slovakia), Hungary, Poland and Romania. In turn, Central Europe in the broader sense also includes the states between today’s Germany and the Commonwealth of Independent States, i.e. the Baltic States formerly incorporated within the Union of Socialist Soviet Republics (USSR): Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, as well as the Balkan countries emerging from the break-up of the old Yugoslavia, i.e. Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia, along with Albania. This chapter employs the narrower of the two definitions.

Search for more...
Back to top

Use of cookies on this website

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.